Sovereign Hill

Let me take you back to the 1850s to see what going to school was like back then. 321……………….

Here we are in 1854. Shhhhhhh! Ma’am is coming this way. “All good over here miss Grace?” “Yes Ma’am.” Our Ma’am said that we had to think of the word ‘Ma’am’ as our full stop at the end of every sentence. She taught us the three Rs. Reading writing and arithmetic. (It was just for the sound, not the letters.) We had to wear Pantalettes, a dress and a kind of cape over the top. It wasn’t very big but it kept you warm. 

The Lolly shop is my favourite shop on the Main Street.Their raspberry drops are my all time favourite. My Aunty always sends me up to the candle store to buy some candles. She wants the tent to smell nice all the time. If I have some money left over, I can dip my own candle! But you always have to be on the lookout for those terrible Red coats! Shooting there bayonets 24/7! 

321………….

It’s 2019 again. There was so much to see at Sovereign Hill. One of my favourite parts was when we saw someone purify some gold. When it was set in the gold bar the man told us that it was worth about $200,000 Australian dollars. It was at the Gold Smelting Works. 

Have you been to Sovereign Hill? If so, what was your favourite part?

 

Talk to you soon!

By Grace

 

10 Comments on Sovereign Hill

  1. matthewwcbgs
    August 1, 2019 at 11:30 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi grace,
    I really liked your blog post on sovereign hill and I also thought it was really fun there. We went to St peters school when we were there. To answer your question, I don’t really know what my favourite part was because there was so much to do there but the lolly shop was up there somewhere in my favourites. I also liked seeing the purified gold as well.

    What school did you go to?

    Reply
  2. christianzcbgs
    August 6, 2019 at 10:47 am (5 years ago)

    Hi Grace,
    Your blog post was extremely detailed and interesting to read. There was great depth and detail put into each paragraph and contained a nutshell of the expeirience at Sovereign Hill and what life was like in the goldfields back in 1854. I liked the layout of the post as it was almost a timeline and making it seem like a story made it that bit more interesting. The ‘fun fact’ boxes where a super cool idea and gave your post the non fiction aspect as well as the story. I liked how you used show don’t tell at the end of paragraph three too. I also enjoyed watching the gold being purified and to answer your questions, I have been to Sovereign Hill yet am unsure of my favourite part since it was all so fun and enjoyable although I did enjoy Aura the Sound and Light Show.

    Did you enjoy Aura?

    Christian Z

    Reply
  3. charliecbgs5
    August 14, 2019 at 8:08 am (5 years ago)

    Hi Grace,
    I enjoyed the mine tours because I found out lots of new things. During the first day of the school program I realised that my pantelettes were too small, but I couldn’t change them.
    From Charlie.

    Reply
  4. annabelcbgs5
    August 20, 2019 at 7:28 am (5 years ago)

    Wow Grace!
    You have put a lot detail and depth into your writing. You have helped me from a image in my head about the 1850s and helped me visualise what it would be like. I liked how you put so many facts into it but also made it very interesting.
    Great images too!

    Annabel

    Reply
  5. zaracbgs
    August 26, 2019 at 9:50 am (5 years ago)

    Hi Grace!
    I lived going to Sovereign Hill as well! It was so much fun, (especially in the school program, I thought that the dress up clothes that we had to wear looked a bit funny compared to what we usually dress in but it was all part of the experience and it felt more like the 1850s). My favourite lollie was also the the raspberry drops and I also liked the sour grape drops and the salted caramel drops! I like the way that you set out your post, how you switched fr9m 2019 to 1850, I thought that was a really cool and creative way to lay out your post. Great job!
    Zara

    Reply
  6. joannacbgs
    August 28, 2019 at 12:32 am (5 years ago)

    Hey Grace,
    I love your rainbow blog! It’s colourful! I loved how you used a speech bubble to represent the word that some readers might not know the meaning of.
    I loved the time when we got to spend all our money!
    What is your favourite olden day punishment?
    From Joanna.

    Reply
  7. Flynn Curry
    August 29, 2019 at 7:00 am (5 years ago)

    Hi Grace,
    I thought your Sovereign Hill post was extremely detailed from the start of the post to the end of the post. I loved the start where it said we will now go back in time. I liked the lolly shop too especially the free samples.
    From Flynn

    Reply
  8. Ruby Downing
    August 29, 2019 at 7:33 am (5 years ago)

    Hi Grace,
    I like how detailed your blog post was, it was really interesting! Yes I have been to sovereign hill I also had so much fun dressing up and being welcomed to sovereign hill in the 1850’s. My favourite part about your comment was how you kept putting speach bubbles in places. I also really loved the lolly shop and the raspberry drops were so good I wish I could have some. Your post was so amazing you are a talented writer.
    From Ruby

    Reply
  9. jackcbgs
    August 29, 2019 at 8:53 am (5 years ago)

    Hi Grace,
    I really like the detail that you have put into this post and I also like how you have put descriptions of words that people might not know the meaning of. My favourite part of Sovereign Hill was when Ma’am called Bed a dingbat when he said the second letter in the alphabet was D.
    From Jack

    Reply
  10. Grace
    August 31, 2019 at 1:20 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi Grace,
    The only thing I loved more than reading your post about your Sovereign Hill experience was hearing about it in true Grace fashion upon your return! I loved your enthusiasm when recounting your daily happenings: the uniforms you had to wear, how the raspberry drops got their colour, the candle making… Your explicit detail made me feel as though I had visited. In answer to your question, no I haven’t been to Sovereign Hill – funny seeing as my Mum’s from Ballarat – but I’d love to go sometime. You would make the best guide!
    Love Mum xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply